26 Mar 2015

Statement from the Booker Prize Foundation on the death of Martyn Goff CBE, 1923 - 2015

The Trustees of the Booker Prize Foundation are very sad to hear the news of Martyn Goff’s death on Wednesday 25th March after a long period of ill health.
Martyn was the Administrator of the prize from 1970 to 2006 and, over more than three decades, he helped shape the prize into the literary force it is today.
More »

24 Mar 2015

The Man Booker International Prize 2015 Finalists’ List Announced

Ten writers are on the judges’ list of finalists under serious consideration for the sixth Man Booker International Prize, the £60,000 award which recognises one writer for his or her achievement in fiction.
More »

20 Mar 2015

A flood of Man Booker films

Man Booker winners have a long history of making a successful transition from page to screen – think Thomas Keneally's Schindler's Ark, Kazuo Ishiguro's The Remains of the Day, Michael Ondaatje's The English Patient, Yann Martel's Life of Pi and, of course, Hilary Mantel's Thomas Cromwell duo.
More »

27 Feb 2015

The Narrow Road to Oxford

More »

20 Feb 2015

Ishiguro channels Clint Eastwood

Who would have thought that the author who brought us Stevens the butler in Remains of the Day (Man Booker winner in 1989) has secretly been harbouring a desire to write about that staple of film Westerns, a lone man on a horse? It has, it seems, long been Kazuo Ishiguro's wish and it has now come to fruition with his new novel The Buried Giant.
More »

13 Feb 2015

Ismail Kadare's contentment

The Albanian novelist Ismael Kadare was recently in Israel to pick up the Jerusalem Prize ‘for work which best expresses and promotes the idea of the freedom of the individual in society’. Previous winners include Arthur Miller, Haruki Murakami and 1998 Man Booker winner Ian McEwan.
More »