Want to find out more about the Man Booker Prize? See our most Frequently Asked Questions below.

What are the key dates for the 2015 prize?

August 2015 – Longlist announcement
September 2015 – Shortlist announcement
13 October 2015  – Winner announcement

What is Man?

Man is a leading alternative investment management business with a diverse offering in hedge funds and long only products across equity, credit, managed futures, convertibles, emerging markets, global macro and multi-manager solutions. At 30 June 2014, Man managed $57.7 billion. The original business was founded in 1783. Today, Man is listed on the London Stock Exchange and is a member of the FTSE 250 Index with a market capitalisation of around £2.2 billion. Man also supports many awards, charities and initiatives around the world, including sponsoring the Man Booker literary prizes. Further information can be found at www.man.com.

What is the Booker Prize Foundation?

The Booker Prize Foundation is a registered charity (no 1090049) which, since 2002, has been responsible for the award of the prize. The trustees of the Booker Prize Foundation are former Chairman of Booker plc, Jonathan Taylor CBE (Chair); Lord Baker of Dorking CH; barrister and former Chair of the British Council, Baroness Kennedy QC; Professor of Creative Writing, Royal Holloway College University of London and former Poet Laureate, Sir Andrew Motion; broadcaster, James Naughtie; biographer, Victoria Glendinning; former Finance Director of Rentokil plc, Christopher Pearce and Principal and Vice Chancellor of the University of St Andrews, Dr Louise Richardson .The late Martyn Goff CBE, former Man Booker Prize administrator, was President of the Foundation and Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne, Sir Ronald Harwood and Baroness Neuberger are Vice Presidents.

What is eligible for the prize?

Any novel originally written in English and published in the UK in the year of the prize, regardless of the nationality of their author. The novel must be an original work in English (not a translation) and must not be self-published.

How much is the prize worth to the winning author?

The prize is worth £50,000 to the winner. It will be awarded to the author of the best, eligible full-length novel in the opinion of the judges. The prize may not be divided or withheld.

How are the judges chosen?

Following recommendations from the The Booker Prize Foundation Advisory Committee, which also advises on any changes to the rules. It represents all sides of the book world. Its members are: Ion Trewin, Chair (Literary Director, Booker Prize Foundation); Richard Cable, publisher; Mark Chilton, Company Secretary and General Counsel of Booker Group plc; Emmanuel Roman, Chief Executive, Man; Jonathan Douglas, Director of the National Literacy Trust; Maggie Fergusson, writer and Secretary of the Royal Society of Literature; Basil Comely, BBC TV; Derek Johns, the literary agent; Peter Kemp, Chief Fiction Reviewer, The Sunday Times; James Daunt,  Managing Director of Waterstone’s; Nigel Newton, publisher; Fiammetta Rocco, literary editor, The Economist (Man Booker International Prize Administrator); Eve Smith (Secretary, the Booker Prize Foundation); and Robert Topping; Topping & Company Booksellers.

The Advisory Committee is chaired by Ion Trewin, Literary Director of the Booker Prize Foundation, who is appointed by the Booker Prize Foundation. Every effort is made to achieve a balance between the judges of gender, articulacy and role. A judge is rarely enrolled a second time.

What difference does winning the prize make?

Winning the Man Booker Prize is the ultimate accolade for many writers. As 1996 winner Graham Swift commented, ‘Prizes don't make writers and writers don't write to win prizes, but in the near-glut of literary awards now on offer, the Booker remains special. It's the one which, if we're completely honest, we most covet.’

Every year the Man Booker Prize winner is guaranteed a huge increase in sales, firstly in hardback and then in paperback. There is spin-off too in global sales of books, in future publishing contracts and in film and TV rights. Besides the fortune, the winner of the Man Booker Prize can also be sure of fame. The announcement of the winner is covered by television, radio and press worldwide.

What do the winners spend their prize money on?

This is the question which, inevitably, is asked of every Man Booker Prize winner. There have been many different answers over the three decades of the prize. A.S.Byatt, winning with Possession in 1990, announced that she now had the money she needed to build her ‘longed-for swimming pool in Provence.’

How up to date is the information on this website pertaining to people related to the prize?

The information provided about authors and judges has been written to be relevant with the prize year that they are associated with. In some cases this copy has been updated for the launch of the new website in July 2012.

How can I access archive information relating to the prize? 

There is a Booker Prize Archive available to consult via The Special Collections at Oxford Brookes University Library. Click here to search the Archives catalogue. For more information about this facility or to arrange a visit please contact Special Collections at Oxford Brookes University Library